This railroading town originated in 1831
when six men purchased the land at auction. In the following year,
the layout for the town was designed.
In 1833, a courthouse was built on
the public square. This structure was replaced by a newer courthouse in
1835, just two years later. This courthouse stood until 1847.
A valuable asset of the town has
always been its lakes. In LaPorte's earlier years, the lakes provided a
strong ice industry; in LaPorte's present day, these same lakes are appreciated
by water-recreation lovers and many residents of the town.
LaPorte also has a strong history of
manufacturing, beginning with the town's first foundry and machine shop
(established by brothers Meinrad and John Rumley) and into present-day LaPorte
which boasts nearly 100 manufacturing firms.